Back to All Events

Re:Sound 4

  • The Bop Stop at the Music Settlement 2920 Detroit Avenue Cleveland, OH, 44113 United States (map)


Bethany Younge - ing ing ing ing ing ing ing ing ing ing ing into

Leah Asher - Letters to my future self

Sky Macklay - Maps

andPlay is a violin and viola duo whose program, "Glass Screams," showcases three female composers whose works highlight different aspects of the human experience. Younge uses the performer's instruments and voices in ing ing...into (2018) to explore the limits of silence and chaos. Asher's graphic score, Letters to my future self (2018), is inspired by letters of advice that friends and family wrote to themselves, imploring one to consider one's own hopes and dreams for the future. Finally, Macklay's Maps (of friendship) (2019) is a light-hearted look at the restless nature of our contemporary lives, using google map images of the often traveled paths of both performers.

New Morse Code

Christopher Stark - The Language of Landscapes

George Lam - The Emigrants

New Morse Code is a cello/percussion duo dedicated to catalyzing collaboration and building community.  Christopher Stark's The Language of Landscapes makes a commentary on human wastefulness and resourcefulness by juxtaposing sounds and concepts relating to what we perceive as “natural” and “synthetic.” George Lam's The Emigrants uses oral history interviews Lam conducted with immigrant musicians living and working in Queens to tell unique stories about the role music has played in their transition to the US.



Earlier Event: June 8
Re:Sound 3
Later Event: June 8
Re:Sound 5